Already have an account?
Get back to the

Winter Is Coming — House Targaryen Fights to Overthrow House Lannister in ‘Game of Thrones’ Season 7

Every Game of Thrones family wants to rule the Seven Kingdoms, but only one house can sit atop the Iron Throne.

The powerful houses will battle it out in the seventh season of the HBO hit fantasy drama to see who will regain control. Season 7 will premiere on July 16, 2017 — and in typical GoT fashion, it'll be full of shocking deaths, bloody battles, and political sabotage.

MORE: 'Orange Is the New Black' Season 5 Looks So Good, It Should Be Illegal

"This season is really different than any other season because it's accelerating toward the end, a lot of stuff collides and happens much much quicker than you’re used to seeing on Thrones," Kit Harrington, who plays Jon Snow told Entertainment Weekly. "It’s so different than what everybody is used to. It’s quite exciting."

The trailer shows three main houses who could take over the Seven Kingdoms: House Lannister, House Stark, and House Targaryen. Despite the fact that Cersei Lannister (played by Lena Headey) is currently Queen Regent does not mean her reign will last as she is surrounded by enemies. Plus, Daenerys Targaryen (played by Emilia Clarke) is on a mission to overthrow Cersei and rule herself.

MORE: ‘Game of Thrones’ Actress Sophie Turner Says She “Kinda Loved” Her Character’s “Messed Up” Rape Scene

"For a long time we’ve been talking about 'the wars to come,'" showrunner David Benioff added. "Well, that war is pretty much here."

Throughout the six seasons, fans were introduced to many powerful houses in Westeros. Some houses remain, while others became extinct since all their family members died. The battle for power is not an easy one.

Cersei put it best in Season 1: "When you play the game of thrones, you win or you die. There is no middle ground."

Click through the gallery below to learn more about the Game of Thrones houses!

Have a tip? Send it to us! Email In Touch at